Le Pinou Chalet 3***

Bessans Savoie

Village which combines the saints, angels and the legend of the devil, in a beautiful natural setting synonymous with beauty. Village unvarnished where each new day brings a feeling of well-being, serenity, located in the valley of the Haute Maurienne (Savoie) at 1750 meters above sea level, surrounded by mountains and glaciers of 3000m.

In summer

In winter

Bessans has preserved its ancestral character thanks to its inhabitants who are constantly organizing nights “tales and legends” processions in costume once (Day 15 August), music concerts, the live nativity … Throughout the seasons, many cultural, festive and simple distractions are proposed.

Family atmosphere and mountain guarantee.

The legend of Devil Bessans:

A little demon born of insolence

The story tells bessanaise last century, the cantor Vincendet carved a devil holding a priest under his arm, and placed boldly on the window of the local priest. This was the beginning of a dispute between the two men, who went to remove the devil alternately in one and then in the other. The “father the devil” is the sacristan “Etienne des Saints” in 1858.

But it was especially the origin of a tradition as a traveler passing by the window of the sculptor was seduced by the demon of wood he bought immediately. The first devil was the first in a long line perpetuated by artisans Bessanais today.

Le Diable de Bessans

Le Pinou Chalet 3***

Bessans Savoie

Village où se côtoient les saints, les anges et la légende du diable , dans un magnifique cadre naturel synonyme de beauté. Village sans fard où chaque jour nouveau procure une sensation de bien-être, de sérénité, situé dans la vallée de la Haute Maurienne (Savoie) à 1750 m d’altitude, entouré de sommets et de glaciers de plus de 3000m.

L’été

L’hiver

Bessans a su préserver son caractère ancestral grâce à ses habitants qui n’ont de cesse d’organiser des soirées « contes et légendes », des processions en costumes d’autrefois (Fête du 15 Août), des concerts de musique, la crèche vivante… Tout au long des saisons, de nombreuses activités culturelles, festives ainsi que de simples distractions sont proposées.

Ambiance familiale et montagnarde garantie.

La légende du diable de Bessans:

Un petit démon né de l’insolence

L’histoire bessanaise raconte qu’au siècle dernier, le chantre Vincendet sculpta un diable tenant un curé sous le bras, et le déposa effrontément sur la fenêtre du prêtre local. Ce fut le début d’une dispute entre les deux hommes, qui allèrent déposer le diable alternativement chez l’un puis chez l’autre. Le « père du diable » est le sacristain « Etienne des Saints » en 1858.

Mais ce fut surtout l’origine d’une tradition car un voyageur passant devant la fenêtre du sculpteur fut séduit par le démon de bois qu’il acheta aussitôt. Ce premier diable fut le premier d’une longue lignée, perpétuée par les artisans bessanais d’aujourd’hui.

Le Diable de Bessans